A Group of People

Spring Break: Time well spent in days we’re given

In spring break, wisdom, wisely on March 21, 2011 at 8:26 pm

I want to use these days wisely.

By Liz Dugger

“Teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.” – Psalm 90:12

Spring. It’s that time.Today I tackled a garage cabinet that’s been making me crazy with dirt. No wonder. Judging from what I found, that cupboard missed the cleanings of several springs past.

I pulled out shoes and boots I’d forgotten we had. Mismatched work gloves and plastic lids with no containers. Then I found the shoe box.

One look and I remembered. It was our son’s elementary school project  – a Pacific Ocean habitat. He’s in 8th grade now. Where did the five years go since the day I stuffed this shoebox of treasures in a cabinet because I didn’t have the heart to throw it away?

Instant reruns pop into mind. Spring break at the beach. I saw his baby-toothed smile and pudgy hand that spontaneously grabbed me, “Come on, mom, let’s go to Flamingo Jim’s for some prizes!” Tiny starfish, sand dollars, plastic fish, all disheveled in the habitat I was holding once again.

Here he is five years later. Deep voice, 5′ 10″, size 11-1/2 shoe. Now, when I go to the store he flips on an amp and says, “No thanks, mom, I’ll stay here. But can you bring me back a burger?” Meanwhile, his long, slender fingers lay down man-like riffs on a precision bass.

My stomach does a little turn, somewhere between a case of butterflies and that squirmy feeling you get when you think you’re going to fall down some stairs. Nostalgia swooshed through my guts as I realized in another five years, he’d be gone.

“Oh God!” I think in a panic. “What is he going to remember of these growing up days? Life at home, mom, dad, who we are as a family … ?” The thoughts try to scare me. But almost instantly I snatch them up, wrangle and rein them in, determined: I’m going to make use of these days and set my heart after wisdom.

James 3:17 says,

“The wisdom from above is first of all pure.

It is also peace loving, gentle at all times, and willing to yield to others.

It is full of mercy and good deeds. It shows no favoritism and is always sincere.”

I’ve got lots of room for improvement.

It’s spring break again. This year, we’re not building a habitat in a shoe box. But we have a week together and I have a chance to help him cultivate a habitat on the inside. A place where, by God’s grace, I can sincerely plant seeds of purity, peace, love, mercy.

I want to use these days wisely. With all my heart, be what God made me to be in his life. Then, when I look back in another five years, the pangs in my gut will be of sweet nostalgia and time well spent rather than regret at wasting these treasured days we’re being given.

Leave a Reply

