A Group of People

Reflections : The Earthquake in Japan

In charlie sheen, disaster, Japan on March 11, 2011 at 7:18 pm

By Sunshine Dixon

My heart aches at the aftermath of the quake

What’s worse?

My heart bursts

At the Media fang dripping thirst

Reporters eye light

Voices fevered

White shirt clean

Happy to be over discussing Sir SHEEN

At what COST?

Devastation and loss

I pray for Japan and all others

I pray for all suffering sisters and brothers

Haiti, New Zealand, the list goes on

I pray for consolation, food, and rescue

Today I’m adding the media too

I pray that like the Tin Man they get a new heart

That its constant ticking will remind them in deed

That this story they rolling again and again

It’s the loss of a daughter, a mother, a friend

The loss of an uncle, a father, a son

What goes around comes

They could be the next one

Last night as I watched

I saw a familiar scene

That white sheet waving wildly… HELP ME…HELP ME

Katrina images came to mind

The same scene…white sheet HELP ME time after time

Same helicopter …same clear view

Same deep feeling of What can I do

Same disappointment my eyes clearly trace,  disappointment creeping over the faces

Of those white sheet owners and their sudden recognition

The helicopter is here for a TV transmission

No rope , for my rescue, no pills for my pain

As helicopters circles again and again

As children are screaming, parents in distress, the elderly fade to a watery rest

The cameras are watching reporting the news

Getting the ratings, and counting the toll,

Making sure to keep talking while their cameras roll

As the Media fang dripping thirst

Reporters eyes light

Voices fevered

White shirt clean

Happy to be over discussing Sir SHEEN

At what COST?

Devastation and loss

I pray for Japan and all others

I pray for all suffering sisters and brothers

Haiti, New Zealand, the list goes on

I pray for consolation, food, and rescue

Today I’m adding the media too

Leave a Reply

