A Group of People

Rowboat back to simple

In coping, life, simple, writing on March 7, 2011 at 6:49 pm

By Liz Dugger

“I’m afraid that exactly as the Snake seduced Eve with his smooth patter, you are being lured away from the simple purity of your love for Christ.” 2 Corinthians 11:3 (The Message)

In some spare moments I sat down to write. It was the perfect time and place. My head streamed with zinger type thoughts that made me excited about the future – anticipate fruitful days and productive feelings. A mini revelation was on the verge of spilling words onto a page.

So I sat down to testify that I was on my way. Back to simple. Ready to leave convoluted purpose, vision, goals in many areas of life … behind … for a lighter way.

I started writing and got antsy. It felt complicated. As I tried to untangle reasons life had become so complex, my thoughts began to fragment so I chased them through my head trying to keep them together. The concept “simplicity” caused a big blur.

Life had been a blur for a long time. Not because all was “bad.” But many challenges and changes intersected at a time when the world was speeding up. Every facet of life got tangled up.

Because so much was out of my control and hard to sort out, I developed a coping “skill.” I lived like a crazed water sportsmen, revving up my jet ski, racing up, down, around the river. Zooming past people and places that were never quite in focus. The shoreline was a threat of interruption, useful only for fueling and re-launching. Slowing down wasn’t an option for fear of sinking.

When I started writing about simplifying, I couldn’t stand what I saw, so I set it aside.

Over a few days, beneath the blur, I felt the ache to trade my jet ski for a row boat. In my daydreams, I imagined what it would be like. I’d dock it close to shore, in calm, reflective waters, where I could keep an observant eye and close ties to all I love.

A row boat like Jesus might have launched that pulls ashore for the hungry, anchors well in wild storms, and carries friends with conversations that draw them closer to His dreams. Peace. Hope. Joy. In the company of Love.

When I look at Jesus, I’m ready to relinquish complexity. No need for lengthy, intelligent explanations. He says, “Come follow me. Let’s go.”

Rather than sorting out the yesterdays, I’m on my way into tomorrow where:

God is my definition of Love
Jesus is my model for the church
My husband gets the best of my attention
Home with family is my “favorite place to work”
Inherent gifts do more than keep me busy
Eternal fruit is the product of my day
Failure sparks mercy and compassion
Humility fills my words and songs with faith and grace …

This is enough revelation for now. My life will testify if it is true. I’m all for a row boat back to simple. You wanna ride along? Let’s go!

Leave a Reply

