A Group of People

Lombardi

In Jesus, life, lombardi, pursuit on February 25, 2011 at 5:56 pm

By Ezra Stanton

Two and a half weeks ago, I like many other Americans (111 Million to be exact) savored one of our favorite national holidays, the Super Bowl. Because I am a firm believer in the old adage, “the more the merrier” I invited half of my friends on Facebook.  Not exactly 111 million but way too many for everyone to enjoy the game comfortably in our small town home, but again the more the merrier, so who cares.

As the players were being announced and running out on to the field one my friends reflected on how amazing this moment must be. When these men were mere boys, in backyards, in cul-de-sacs and on blacktops across this great country, they acted out playing in the Super Bowl.

Now those dreams were no longer just fantasy. That day, they became a reality.

Later on as more people arrived (only in the Northwest do people show up late for the Super Bowl) a similar comment was made by someone else: “all of the sweat, blood, pain, practice, injury, daily doubles and sacrifice has finally paid off. They are getting to literally chase their dream on the biggest stage in the world.”

After the game ended, and as our guests were scooping out the last of the now brown guacamole and rating the best commercial of the game, I found myself still staring at the screen. It was fascinating to watch Packer after Packer dressed in green and gold, hoist the infamous Lombardi trophy high above their heads in victory.

What pulsated through my mind, was the outcome of observations made earlier. These men had sacrificed so much for this moment, and now they had achieved their dreams. Simultaneously, another question emerged: “What am I truly living for? What am I sacrificing to achieve my dreams? What is my Lombardi?”

I want to live life, pursue Jesus and love humanity with the same intensity these athletes pursue the game of football. Whatever the sacrifice, whatever the cost, I want to be someone that gives it all. Regardless of pain, injury, hardship, suffering and ever persecution, we too can say, it was so worth it.  That at the ends of our lives, we can say, I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith and now I get to raise the Lombardi, the crown of righteousness, above our heads.

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Gunnar Simonsen, liquidcloud11. liquidcloud11 said: Lombardi http://wp.me/p1jd28-97 […]

Leave a Reply

