A Group of People

Slaughterhouse Sex

In life, temptation on February 16, 2011 at 4:18 pm

By Ezra Stanton

In the Bible in the 7th chapter of the book of Proverbs, a father, who is also an incredibly wise king is writing to his son and sharing all of the wisdom, all of the insights he has learned throughout his lifetime. Solomon (the father) informs his son about an interaction he witnessed between a man and a woman:

“A young man decides to sleep with another man’s wife. This is how he describes it: All at once he followed her like an ox going to the slaughter, like a deer stepping into a noose till an arrow pierces his liver, like a bird darting into a snare, little knowing it will cost him his life.”

I don’t know about you, but I didn’t grow up on a slaughterhouse. I have never witnessed a clueless oxen moments before it is about to die. However, as I read these verses I am brought back to something that I can relate to as an 80’s baby who has lived my entire life in cities.

It is a scene from a Disney movie titled “Bugs Life” where the mosquitos are flying into the bug zapper. Like farmers being sucked into an aliens tractor beam, these blood sucking bugs are magically locked onto the breath taking blue glow and they are completely hopeless.

How often does that describe us when it comes to the decisions we make? And I am not just talking about sex, but with everyday decisions we make. From buying things we cannot afford to dating people we know will hurt us, to countless other decisions. We see what we want, we believe that we need it, and we don’t let anything hold us back.

So how do we avoid slaughterhouse sex or slaughterhouse anything for that matter, we follow the words of instruction that Solomon gives to his own son earlier in Proverbs 7:

My son, keep my words and store up my commands within you. Keep my commands and you will live; guard my teachings as the apple of your eye. Bind them on your fingers; write them on the tablet of your heart. Say to wisdom, “You are my sister,” and call understanding your kinsman; they will keep you from the adulteress, from the wayward wife with her seductive words. Say to wisdom, “You are my sister,” and call understanding your kinsman; they will keep you from the adulteress, from the wayward wife with her seductive words.

Leave a Reply

