A Group of People

February 14th

In February 14th, life, Single, valentine's day on February 14, 2011 at 4:49 pm

By @lorilenz

Aah. It is Valentines Day. Or Singles Awareness Day (S.A.D.). Or to me, it’s simply called “Monday.”

Wikipedia talks of 3 saints named Valentine. All were martyrs. Valentine of Terni was martyred on February 14. Little else is know about any of these men.

What else happened on February 14? Oh yes, a massacre in Chicago among the rival mafias. But I digress.

Over the past few days, on every talk and morning show, there has been much chatter about how to make your Valentine happy, how to now screw up gift giving, warnings to men about making their dinner reservation (and babysitter reservations!) early, what foods to cook for Valentines day that men actually enjoy, etc.

The greeting card association estimates a billion Valentine cards are sent each year. (Apologies to mom and dad. I completely forgot.)

And they follow that 85% of all Valentines are purchased by women. Hum.

73% of Valentines Day flowers are bought by men.

15% of all flowers sent on Valentines Day are by women, to themselves. (antivday.com) I would be a statistic in this group. I can count on my fingers the number of times my significant others bought me flowers for this or any romantic holiday. Sometimes we just have to take matters into our own hands. Can I get an “Amen” ladies?

This year, I’m curious if I will be receiving any holiday themed romance. It could happen. But I’m really not too worried about it. I’m more worried if my belly dancing class is cancelled or not.

And I’m glad it’s not overtaking my brain. I don’t need to stress new and growing relationships.

Happy Valentines Day to my amazing community of beautiful, strong, successful, funny, wise women who I walk through life with. Maybe some day, some sexy, strong, successful, funny, wise men will realize that they have been missing.

Until then, we have discovered that we don’t need a holiday to buy ourselves flowers, eat dark chocolate and drink large amounts of champagne.

Happy Valentines Day to my family, who I love deeply.

Happy Valentines Day to the group of friends in my life who have experienced loss this year. You are loved.

And Happy Valentines day to you who are reading this.

I’m off to buy myself some flowers – I already have the wine and chocolate.

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Gunnar Simonsen and Ezra Stanton, liquidcloud11. liquidcloud11 said: February 14th http://wp.me/p1jd28-6x […]

Leave a Reply

