A Group of People

Paper dolls, Barbies, and Bratz

In Barbie Dolls, bratz, culture, growing up, life, media, mom, MTV, paper dolls, Proverbs, society on January 31, 2011 at 5:57 am

I remember a time as a young girl, playing with paper dolls.  The two dimensional, formless girls, clad in pink cotton panties with matching tank tops.  Made complete with paper clothing options to change at my will.  No makeup, no foofoo, no fuss.  Limitless creativity.

And along came Barbie.  Hourglass figure, flawless skin, and perfect beauty.  With her dream house and dream kitchen, she was every little girls vision of perfection.

In dropped Bratz.  Huge eyes, vuluptuos lips, bare midriff, tantalizing cleavage.  In her, the young girl imagines what image is all about.

Early on, young girls learn that, in order to get what you want, you must present yourself wrapped.

It’s in how you look.  In how you talk.  In how you walk.  The flip of the hair.  The turn of the head.  The look of the eye.  Watch me.  Hear me.  Want me.

Turn on the TV.  MTV, Disney, Nick.  ABC, NBC, CBS.

Watch the media.  Commercials, billboards, internet.

Walk down the street.  Hollister, Abercrombie, Victoria’s Secret.

Listen to the airwaves.  Crushes, cheating, love.

How do I look, how do I feel, how do I know.  Kiss me, hold me, touch me.

What do we think? What do we do?  What do we say?

As a mother, I must speak.  I must teach.  I must lead.   Be aware.  Be alert.  Be prepared.

“To be pure in mind, body and spirit is more precious than all the promises the world offers. A godly woman guards her heart against anything that would rob her of her purity and she is content to wait upon the Lord…” (www.beingvirtuouswoman.com)

“Who can find a virtuous woman? For her price is far above rubies.”

Proverbs 31:10

By Raeleen Sewell

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Gunnar Simonsen, liquidcloud11. liquidcloud11 said: Paper dolls, Barbies, and Bratz: http://wp.me/p1jd28-3V […]

  2. Excellent points on this subject. I suffered and still suffer with my concept of my own “beauty”. It affects every relationship, every action of the day and night.

    I know I am beautiful in the eyes of my Lord and I know my husband cannot imagine loving anyone else, cannot find anyone he sees as more beautiful, but I see myself, I know. Those extra 100 pounds, the wrinkles, the bulges…I see them.

    Then I see the “perfect ones”, the magazine covers, the commercials and I sink deeper into imperfection.

    Oh, to see myself through the eyes of Jesus, to see my heart that longs to be perfect in His sight and not in others eyes. To fix my thoughts on striving to be a woman after His heart and not the approval of others.

    As a photographer, I know how to change the shape of a body, remove blemishes, take off that love handle, enlarge the eyes, slim the hips….create an illusion of beauty.

    But as a mom, I know the greatest work I can do is to teach my son what real beauty is all about. To know he can look beyond the outside to see the heart of the woman God will someday bring into his life.

    So mom,speak,teach,lead… out there somewhere the mom of a son is doing the same, and hoping her son will find a woman whose heart is fully God’s and one who isn’t depending on an outward appearance to be the thing that wins his heart.

    • Great words, Denise. I am a huge fan of the “Dove Campaign” for that very reason – the editing, cropping, “de-blemishing” – it’s all very real, and so many young girls have no clue.

      If you haven’t had the opportunity to view it before, here’s my favorite http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iYhCn0jf46U.

      Have a blessed day!

  3. And for another dose of reality…

Leave a Reply

