A Group of People

The Gift of You : Missing Mom

In life, loved ones, moms, mothers on February 14, 2011 at 5:00 pm

By Raeleen Sewell

She really was an amazing woman; too quickly taken. And her absence has caused my heart to ache – often, unexpectedly. Days, sometimes weeks, go by without a thought. Then suddenly, without notice, a scent, a sound, a word… brings it all back home. And I’m left with the hole. Missing her more… but knowing there will be a day that I will see her again.

With the anniversary of her birth exactly one week from this day, I am choosing to post something from her legacy book.

I love you, Mom

I miss the warmth of your gentle hug and the love I felt when my arms were wrapped around you. I miss seeing your beautiful smile and the sound of your voice saying my name. I miss hearing you say, “I love you,” and me saying, “I love you” in return.

I miss saying “Mom” out loud. I will miss not being able to find that special card for you, and then having found it, writing “To Mom” on it for yet another cherished Mother’s Day.
I miss your words of wisdom and our family without you in it. I miss the look in your eyes that traveled straight to my heart.

I miss the gift of you in the life I have embraced from the day I was born.

I miss YOU Mom!

I miss having you share the feelings that linger deep within my soul; there is emptiness there where you once were.

I miss you saying…”this is my daughter” and the look of pride you held with each word spoken.

I said goodbye to the part of me that held you and said, “You can go now” on that painful day!

And then, in the Grace of that moment…. I close my eyes and feel the warmth of your gentle hug once more and envision wrapping my arms around you.

I see your smile as you say my name. I realize that if I could just go back into my precious memories of you I would find your treasured words of wisdom in a special place deep in my heart.

And then an overwhelming sense of peace and love surrounds me…because I suddenly realize that you already know and understand each feeling I hold within my soul before I feel it!

The part of me that let you go was the part of me that knew you would be the Angel who watched over me; that believed there truly was a God and that one day I would walk toward your wide open arms and hear you say, “This is my daughter; I love you; you can come now”!

And in the peace of that moment, angels flutter their wings and leave me.
Knowing that, I understand. I am okay! You are with me in my heart!

I Love You Mom!

“The everlasting God, the Lord, the Creator of the ends of the earth, Neither faints nor is weary. His understanding is unsearchable. He gives power to the weak, and to those who have no might He increases strength….those who wait on the Lord shall renew their strength; They shall mount up with wings like eagles,

They shall run and not be weary, They shall walk and not faint.” Isaiah 40:28-31

Raeleen is an Ardent follower of Christ. Faithful lover of one man. Devoted mother of three. A passionate zeal for life, truth, and justice. I have much to be thankful for.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

